4RD3N

RETURN

ざくん | Z | 05 Sep 21

Introduction

I should introduce myself. I'm Z, and I also created this webspace for N and R. They should settle in soon. R isn't great with computers, but it shouldn't be too hard. All of these posts are just markdown files in the posts folder.

This site was made with 11ty, a simple static site generator. I was tempted to use Nextjs, because I have previous experience with it, but it felt overkill. And I'd been wanting to use a simple templating language instead of React. Sort of makes me nostalgic for when I used to use Django (which has a built-in templating language).

Python was one of the first high-level languages I learned. But, when it comes to web development, I prefer to just use JavaScript for everything.

Anyways; I like programming (although I'm still fresh to it), video games, and anime. I'll encourage the other two to make an introductory post for themselves too.

Before I go, I'd like to give Neocities some praise. I'm sure you've noticed that they're hosting this site. There were plenty of other places I could've chosen, but Neocities is so simple and reminds me of the days when Geocities gave us a home on the web. And Neocities' CLI makes deployment a breeze.

I have an npm script set up like so:

"deploy": "eleventy && neocities push _site"

And all I need to do is type npm run deploy whenever I want to update the site.