4RD3N

RETURN

なちゃん | N | 25 Sep 21

Unicorn

Ocean

We went to the beach party, all three of us. Z kept dragging us from person to person, greeting people we didn't know. I mostly kept to myself. R was a little more bold than I, they always were--but without initiation. They felt things out and tried to match the flow of others rather than getting others to match their own. I ate chips and kept noticing the sand on my flip-flops; the sand was warm and grating.

R and I brought swimsuits beneath our clothes. Z was fine not swimming. He watched our stuff while we went out to the sea.

I sort of danced through the water, and I splashed R. In return, they splashed back and we engaged in a water war. They seemed really happy. It was sunny when we arrived, but now the sky was starting to darken. My attention drifted back to others who had joined me in the water. The air grew colder, and when I returned to the shore I saw a unicorn standing on the sand. Turning my head back to the waves, I searched for R, but I couldn't see them anymore.

Back again, I saw Z sitting by our things. He was reading a book. Everyone else was gone. Stepping towards Z, I told him that R was gone. He stared at me briefly, then nodded his head. We left without looking for them.