4RD3N

RETURN

ざくん | Z | 01 Oct 21

Preparation

Happy October everyone!

I've been using Obsidian from this post more, and I'll write about how I've been using it for computer sciency things.

Right now, my focus is mainly on job prep. For technical interviews, I've been studying data structures and algorithms (I like this book, although this one helped clarify some things for me) and writing my own implementations. So, if an algorithm seems particularly useful and I want to know it better, I'll make a file dedicated to it and write a description in bullet points (using your own words is important!). Then, I'll include snippets of code with the goal of making it as simple and as readable as possible.

My notes include this Curated Leetcode List in markdown, with checkmarks so I can track which ones I've done.

Leetcode Patterns is also useful, as are the tips. I haven't used it much yet though, I'm just trying to get through Wengrow's book first. I do try to do all of the book's exercises, one of which was the Unique Paths Problem. Maybe I should make a page about that one, too. I did a version without memoization, and one with.

Now, on the more general interviewing side of things, I've decided to make a file dedicated to different skills. By that, I mean programming languages, tools, libraries, frameworks, etc., that I use. I plan to look up common interview questions for those skills and write my initial answers. If the site has the answer to the question, I'll look at it and possibly refine my answer. So far, I have a page dedicated to JavaScript. I also include a number of stars from 1-5 rating how comfortable I feel about the skill compared to other skills. This helps me quickly recognize what I may need to work on more (it's just a rough estimate).

I'm not sure how good these sites are yet, but here are some resources I have saved for skill questions. I'd like to practice with someone some time. These are more specific to JavaScript:

I also plan on practicing behavioral questions. General Interview Checklists seems like it will come in handy for that.

Well, maybe I'll let you know how things go.